fs/seq_file: fallback to vmalloc allocation

There are a couple of seq_files which use the single_open() interface.
This interface requires that the whole output must fit into a single
buffer.

E.g.  for /proc/stat allocation failures have been observed because an
order-4 memory allocation failed due to memory fragmentation.  In such
situations reading /proc/stat is not possible anymore.

Therefore change the seq_file code to fallback to vmalloc allocations
which will usually result in a couple of order-0 allocations and hence
also work if memory is fragmented.

For reference a call trace where reading from /proc/stat failed:

  sadc: page allocation failure: order:4, mode:0x1040d0
  CPU: 1 PID: 192063 Comm: sadc Not tainted 3.10.0-123.el7.s390x #1
  [...]
  Call Trace:
    show_stack+0x6c/0xe8
    warn_alloc_failed+0xd6/0x138
    __alloc_pages_nodemask+0x9da/0xb68
    __get_free_pages+0x2e/0x58
    kmalloc_order_trace+0x44/0xc0
    stat_open+0x5a/0xd8
    proc_reg_open+0x8a/0x140
    do_dentry_open+0x1bc/0x2c8
    finish_open+0x46/0x60
    do_last+0x382/0x10d0
    path_openat+0xc8/0x4f8
    do_filp_open+0x46/0xa8
    do_sys_open+0x114/0x1f0
    sysc_tracego+0x14/0x1a

Conflicts:
	fs/seq_file.c

Bug: 17871993
Signed-off-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Tested-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net>
Cc: Hendrik Brueckner <brueckner@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Thorsten Diehl <thorsten.diehl@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrea Righi <andrea@betterlinux.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Stefan Bader <stefan.bader@canonical.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Git-commit: 058504edd02667eef8fac9be27ab3ea74332e9b4
Git-repo: git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git
Change-Id: Iad795a92fee1983c300568429a6283c48625bd9a
Signed-off-by: Jeremy Gebben <jgebben@codeaurora.org>
Signed-off-by: Naveen Ramaraj <nramaraj@codeaurora.org>
1 file changed