mm: compaction: introduce sync-light migration for use by compaction

commit a6bc32b899223a877f595ef9ddc1e89ead5072b8 upstream.

Stable note: Not tracked in Buzilla. This was part of a series that
	reduced interactivity stalls experienced when THP was enabled.
	These stalls were particularly noticable when copying data
	to a USB stick but the experiences for users varied a lot.

This patch adds a lightweight sync migrate operation MIGRATE_SYNC_LIGHT
mode that avoids writing back pages to backing storage.  Async compaction
maps to MIGRATE_ASYNC while sync compaction maps to MIGRATE_SYNC_LIGHT.
For other migrate_pages users such as memory hotplug, MIGRATE_SYNC is
used.

This avoids sync compaction stalling for an excessive length of time,
particularly when copying files to a USB stick where there might be a
large number of dirty pages backed by a filesystem that does not support
->writepages.

[aarcange@redhat.com: This patch is heavily based on Andrea's work]
[akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix fs/nfs/write.c build]
[akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix fs/btrfs/disk-io.c build]
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Andy Isaacson <adi@hexapodia.org>
Cc: Nai Xia <nai.xia@gmail.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
11 files changed