mm: vmscan: check if reclaim should really abort even if compaction_ready() is true for one zone

commit 0cee34fd72c582b4f8ad8ce00645b75fb4168199 upstream.

Stable note: Not tracked on Bugzilla. THP and compaction was found to
	aggressively reclaim pages and stall systems under different
	situations that was addressed piecemeal over time.

If compaction can proceed for a given zone, shrink_zones() does not
reclaim any more pages from it.  After commit [e0c2327: vmscan: abort
reclaim/compaction if compaction can proceed], do_try_to_free_pages()
tries to finish as soon as possible once one zone can compact.

This was intended to prevent slabs being shrunk unnecessarily but there
are side-effects.  One is that a small zone that is ready for compaction
will abort reclaim even if the chances of successfully allocating a THP
from that zone is small.  It also means that reclaim can return too early
even though sc->nr_to_reclaim pages were not reclaimed.

This partially reverts the commit until it is proven that slabs are really
being shrunk unnecessarily but preserves the check to return 1 to avoid
OOM if reclaim was aborted prematurely.

[aarcange@redhat.com: This patch replaces a revert from Andrea]
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Andy Isaacson <adi@hexapodia.org>
Cc: Nai Xia <nai.xia@gmail.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
1 file changed